Back to Find a Doctor
Dr. Grayson Norquist

Dr. Grayson S. Norquist, MD, MSPH

Chief of Service, Psychiatry

Dr. Grayson Norquist, MD, MSPH, is Professor and Vice-Chair, Emory University Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Chief of the Psychiatry Service at Grady and Chair, PCORI Board of Governors. Prior to joining Emory he was Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Human Behavior at the University of Mississippi School of Medicine. He served in a number of leadership positions before moving to Mississippi at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), including Director of the Division of Services and Intervention Research, a division responsible for clinical, prevention and services research at NIMH. He has been a member of journal editorial boards including Psychiatric Services, Archives of General Psychiatry and Journal of Mental Health Policy and Economics and received various national government and public awards, including the NIH Director’s Award, the NIH Special Service Award, the National Alliance on Mental Illness Exemplary Psychiatrist Award and the American Psychiatric Association Distinguished Service Award. During his time in Mississippi he set up a large telehealth network to provide mental health and addictive services in underserved rural areas. While at NIMH he was involved in formulating national policy for improving mental health services across the United States. He has worked with international organizations, including the World Health Organization, to improve the delivery of mental health services in underserved areas around the world. As Chair of the Council on Quality Care at the American Psychiatric Association he has led the formulation of new quality and performance measures for mental health care.


  • Psychiatry
  • Geriatric Psychiatry

Board Certifications

  • ABMS Psychiatry/Neurology


  • UCLA School of Medicine


  • Emory

Education & Training

  • Medical School: University of Mississippi
  • Internship: UCLA School of Medicine
  • Residency: UCLA School of Medicine

Honors & Awards

NIH Director’s Award

NIH Special Service Award

National Alliance on Mental Illness Exemplary Psychiatrist Award

American Psychiatric Association Health Services Research Senior Scholar Award

American Psychiatric Association Distinguished Service Award