Back to Find a Doctor
Dr. Carlos C. Del Rio

Dr. Carlos C. Del Rio, MD

Executive Associate Dean for Emory at Grady

Dr. Carlos C. Del Rio, MD is the Hubert Professor and Chair of the Department of Global Health at the Rollins School of Public Health and Professor of Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Emory University School of Medicine . He is also co-Director of the Emory Center for AIDS Research (CFAR) and of the Emory-CDC HIV Clinical Trials Unit. Dr. del Rio is a native of Mexico where he attended medical school at Universidad La Salle, graduating in 1983. He did his Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases residencies at Emory University. In 1989 he returned to Mexico where he was Executive Director of the National AIDS Council of Mexico (CONASIDA, the Federal agency of the Mexican Government responsible for AIDS Policy throughout Mexico), from 1992 through 1996. In November of 1996 he returned to Emory where he has been involved in teaching and research. Dr. del Rio was Chief of the Emory Medical Service at Grady Memorial Hospital from 2001 – 2009. His research interests include the early diagnosis of HIV, access to care and compliance with antiretrovirals with a particular focus on vulnerable populations.


  • Infectious Disease
  • Internal Medicine

Board Certifications

  • ABMS Internal Medicine


  • Emory University School of Medicine


  • Emory

Education & Training

  • Medical School: Universidad Nacional Autonoma
  • Internship: Emory University School of Medicine
  • Residency: Emory University School of Medicine

Honors & Awards

Elected to the National Academy of Medicine in 2013

James H. Nakano Citation awarded by the CDC for an outstanding scientific paper published in 2000

Emory University Marion V. Creekmore Achievement Award for Internationalization in 2007

Selected by the “Atlanta Magazine” as one of the 55 most influential foreign born Atlantans in 2007

Thomas Jefferson Award, Emory University highest award for distinguished service to the University in 2014

Ohtli Award from the Government of Mexico for service to the Mexican community living abroad in 2016